Applications now open

2024 Scholarship Program

Helping local residents pursue a career in health and wellbeing.

Are you any of the below:

• A current YDMH employee commencing further health studies?
• Will you be enrolled in an accredited health related tertiary course in 2024
• Are you participating for the first time during 2024 in a medical, nursing or health science discipline course with a tertiary institution within Australia?
• Do you require financial assistance to help complete your health related studies?

If so then our scholarship program is here to assist you – please consider applying.

Scholarship information package and application forms available below?

2024 YDMH Scholarship Info Pack

YDMH Scholarship Application

Applications will close 5pm, Friday 26th January 2024

The 2022 Scholarship Program Awardees Announced

Board Chair Ian Marshman and Board Member Jo Cavill congratulate James Geldart & Fiona Purvis (Chris Curry was unable to attend)[/caption]

The 2022 YDMH Scholarship recipients are:

  • Fiona Purvis – studying Graduate Diploma in Psychology at Deakin University
  • James Geldart – studying Bachelor Occupational Therapy at La Trobe University Bendigo
  • Chris Curry – studying Bachelor of Paramedicine at University of Tasmania

All have been successful in receiving funds to assist with the costs of their studies in the coming year, James & Fiona met in the hospital grounds with Board Members Ian Marshman and Jo Cavill for presentation of certificates.

The review panel  were extremely impressed with the applications this year and the successful recipients all demonstrated a commitment to rural health practice said Louise Sharkey Director Clinical Services adding we wish them all the very best of luck in the coming year  and look forward to hearing their progress reports throughout the year.

The 2021 Scholarship Program Awardees Announced

The successful candidates in 2021 were:

Chris Curry – Studying with Rural Ambulance Service (RAV) to be a  Paramedic – he resides locally in Yea, is a community member of RAV Yea branch and aims to continue to work in the area once studies complete.

Kira Bradley – has commenced studying Nursing & Midwifery at Deakin University. Kira was Yea HS School captain in 2020 and lives in Alexandra, her desire is to return to rural health practice on study completion.

Pictured: Chris Curry is formally congratulated by YDMH Board Chair Ian Marshman & Board Member Jo Cavill (Kira was unable to attend)