Our People

Board of Directors

Mr Ian Marshman AM
Board Chair

Ian still spends some time in Melbourne, but is mostly at Limestone where he runs a small beef farm with his wife. He has a strong background in strategic risk management and reporting and corporate governance. During his 40 year career Ian has previously served on two metropolitan hospital boards, and is currently Chair of Headspace Youth Mental Foundation and the Melbourne Dental Clinic. Locally Ian is Secretary of the Yea Water Discovery Centre Inc. and an active member of the Limestone Fire Brigade. Ian served the previous 12 months on the YDMH Board, and has been reappointed for three years.

Ms Kerry Stubbings
Deputy Board Chair & Chair Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee

Kerry has been appointed for two years, lives in Northcote and has strong family connections to Yea and Flowerdale. Kerry works as a senior executive in local government and has a special interest in promoting community health and wellbeing, early years, youth, aged services and social justice. Kerry’s strengths are strategic leadership, community services, communications and stakeholder engagement.

Ms Jo-Anne Cavill
Chair Clinical Governance Committee

Jo has lived on farming properties with her husband and family near Alexandra for over 20 years, and has worked as a registered nurse in public healthcare facilities across Murrindindi and Mitchell shires in management, executive director and CEO roles. With extensive experience in the acute sector, and aged care experience at Kellock Lodge (CEO/Director of Nursing), Omeo District Health, Darlingford Upper Goulburn Nursing Home and Seymour Health. Jo holds a degree in nursing and qualifications in health service management, with a strong focus on local, high quality health care.

Mr Gary Pollard

Gary also served for 12 months on the previous board, and has been reappointed for three years. Gary, from Yea, has worked as a community pharmacist for over 40 years and has been, and still is involved in many community groups. Gary’s strengths are in audit and risk management, community services and clinical governance. Gary is also a member of the Finance Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Ms Kirstie Fotheringham

Kirstie is from Yea and holds a Bachelor of Accounting degree and a Post Graduate Diploma of Teaching. Kirstie’s strengths are in audit and risk management, financial management and accounting, and corporate governance. Kirstie is also a member of the Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Dr Jennifer Keast

Jennifer has been appointed to the board for 3 years, having previously served as a board member several years ago. She lives in Yea and her family have farmed at Homewood for many generations. Jennifer holds qualifications in nursing, health professional education and simulation-based education, and is currently completing doctoral studies in medical education at the University of Melbourne where she also holds an appointment as a senior lecturer in medicine. Her skills include management of clinical risk, clinical education, patient safety and project management. Locally, Jennifer is currently treasurer of the Yea-Kinglake RSL. Jennifer is also a member of the Clinical Governance Committee.

Mr Dylan Hesselberg

Dylan has been appointed for 3 years, works as Manager Program Management at Major Road Projects Victoria and lives in Melbourne having moved away from Shepparton in 2020. He is a Civil Engineer with experience in delivering significant infrastructure projects and programs. His career to date has comprised of various senior leadership roles within State and Local Government Agencies in Queensland and Victoria. Dylan holds Engineering and Project Management qualifications, is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia, a fellow of the Australian Institute of Project Management (AIPM) and Vice President of the Victorian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Project Management. Dylan is also a member of the Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Ms Teresa Smith

Teresa is a marketing executive with extensive and broad-based experience with leading organisations in the retail & education industries, including Nike, Bunnings, Kmart and Country Road. Particular expertise in creating and building brand equity and over 15 years’ experience in digital. A visionary and strategic thought leader with the ability to identify and act on opportunities for improved business performance. Deep hands-on understanding of governance, financials (managing P&L and budgets of up to $15m), and dealing with change, with outstanding communication skills, strong influencing skills and a natural flair for relationship building and complex stakeholder management. Teresa is also a member of the Clinical Governance Committee.

Dr Abhishek (Abhi) Verma

Abhi is an experienced medical practitioner, medical regulator, and non- executive director. Abhi currently serves as Director on the Board of another rural public health service, as well contributing as a Council member of the Victorian Faculty of Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP). Abhi also presently serves a member of the Victorian Medical Board. Abhi was appointed to this role by the State Minister for Health in 2017, and he is the the youngest person ever appointed to the Victorian Medical Board since the inception of the National Registration scheme. Abhi's expertise lies in his professional experience as an actively practicing doctor, as well as in clinical and corporate governance of health service entities. Abhi is also a member of the Clinical Governance Committee.

Ms Lisa Somerville

Lisa is a newly appointed board member who is a recent graduate from the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Lisa lives in Melbourne with her family and dog. Lisa holds degrees in Occupational Therapy and Public Health. She has a strong interest in clinical governance, workforce, access, diversity and patient experience. Lisa also works as a senior health executive in metropolitan Melbourne. Lisa is also a member of the Clinical Governance Committee.

Management and Support

TBA – Chief Executive Officer

Ms Louise Sharkey – Director of Clinical Services

Dr Rick Lowen – Director of Medical Services (onsite)

Visiting Medical Staff

Dr Martin Lowe – MBBS

Dr Teong Chuah – MBBS

Organisational Chart